Music, Sound and Light Experience

An Immersive Experience That’ll Float Your Boat!

Le Bateau-Mouche au Vieux-Port de Montréal

Montreal, Quebec, Canada, 2017

Le Bateau-Mouche in the Old Port of Montreal is a tourist destination par excellence. Launched in 1992 for Montreal’s 350th anniversary, Le Bateau-Mouche has become one of the city’s most popular attractions, with dinner cruises boasting an unbeatable view of the city skyline. In celebration of its 25th anniversary, which coincides with Montreal’s 375th, Le Bateau-Mouche added a new touch of magic to its evening cruises, with three immersive light shows, complete with an original soundtrack. To make this one-of-a-kind experience come to life, the team at Le Bateau-Mouche turned to XYZ for its design, production and programming services.


The XYZ team drew inspiration from the distinctive structure of Le Bateau-Mouche, installing LED lights on the metal frame of the interior. Under the guidance of music director, staging director and Bateau-Mouche team, XYZ’s creative professionals developed three ooh-and-ahh-worthy lighting schemes that unfold in sync with the specially created soundtrack to showcase the boat’s architecture. The resulting experience engages and delights in a very special way.

In addition to the new light and sound show, the expert integrators at XYZ upgraded the onboard audio equipment with a more powerful system. Improvements include discreetly positioned speakers to provide better boat-wide coverage, as well as wireless microphones and a sound console.


  • Audio
  • Lighting
  • Control systems


Principal contractor
Equipment supply
Calibration and programming


Le Bateau-Mouche au Vieux-Port de Montréal

Original Idea

Brigitte McNeil

Staging Director

Véronique Marcotte

Music Director

Guillaume Marchand

Expérience musique, son et lumières

Spectacle immersif sur l’eau

Le Bateau-Mouche au Vieux-Port de Montréal

Montréal, Québec, Canada, 2017

Le Bateau-Mouche au Vieux-Port de Montréal est une véritable icône touristique. Lancé en 1992, l’année du 350e anniversaire de Montréal, le Bateau-Mouche s’est taillé une place de choix dans les attractions de la métropole, grâce à ses soupers croisières intimes offrant une vue imprenable sur Montréal. À l’occasion de son 25e anniversaire et en marge des célébrités du 375e de la ville, le Bateau-Mouche renouvelle son offre en ajoutant trois tableaux lumineux immersifs accompagnés d’une trame sonore originale au programme de ses croisières nocturnes. L’équipe du Bateau-Mouche a fait appel à XYZ pour concevoir, réaliser et programmer ce spectacle musique, son et lumière unique.

Description

L’équipe d’XYZ s’est inspirée de la structure distinctive du bateau pour intégrer des bandes de LED à ses montants métalliques. En collaboration avec le directeur musical, la metteure en scène et l’équipe du Bateau-Mouche, les créateurs d’XYZ ont réalisé trois tableaux lumineux ludiques qui se déploient au rythme de la trame sonore et mettent en valeur l’armature ajourée du Bateau-Mouche. Les passagers vivent une expérience surprenante qui bonifie leur croisière de façon originale.

En addition à ce nouveau spectacle, les experts intégrateurs d’XYZ ont rafraîchi l’équipement audio du Bateau-Mouche en y installant un nouveau système de son plus puissant. Les enceintes permettent une meilleure couverture tout en étant discrètement intégrées à la structure du bateau. Des micros sans fil et une console ont complètent ce nouvel équipement.

Champs d'expertise

  • Audio
  • Éclairage
  • Systèmes de contrôle

Mandat

Maître d’œuvre
Conception
Fourniture d’équipements
Intégration
Calibration et programmation

Production

Le Bateau-Mouche au Vieux-Port de Montréal

Idée originale

Brigitte McNeil

Mise en scène

Véronique Marcotte

Directeur musical

Guillaume Marchand

Vidéo