Audiovisual Integration

Birth of a City

Al Shindagha - Dubai Creek

Dubai, UAE, 2019

Dubai Creek has played a vital role in the economic development of the city since it was founded. Originally a hub for local and international trade, the creek eventually became a sought-after destination for pearl fishers as well as an important shipping route. The Dubai Creek: Birth of a City pavilion at the Al Shindagha Museum was created to document the history of Dubai, paying tribute to the spirit of innovation that has helped it become the world-class city it is today.

Description

People of the Creek is the first interactive installation awaiting visitors as they enter the exhibition. The visitors can control with their hands the beams of light transmitted through fibre optics, thus creating an instant connection between them and their fellow visitors. This digital experience is meant to symbolize the importance of communication and the exchange of information between the communities that form the United Arab Emirates. GSM Project, the Exhibition designers, called on XYZ to integrate the audiovisual components, lighting and interactive experiences to delight and enthrall audiences.

Visitors are encouraged to look through different viewing machines located around an interactive display of the creek and learn about its history from various points of view. The video content is activated by touching the viewing machines. Several interactive screens are also integrated into mirrored columns to reveal the museum’s artefacts in their best light. Game stations and a photo booth further add to the fun as well as the projection video mapping that is used to display more information about the Creek.

Expertise

  • Audio
  • Video
  • Lighting
  • Control systems
  • Interactivity

Mandate

Audiovisual Design
Integration
Lighting

Production

Dubai Municipality & Culture

Design

GSM Project

Intégration audiovisuelle

Birth of a City

Al Shindagha - Dubai Creek

Dubaï, ÉAU, 2019

Pierre angulaire du commerce de Dubaï depuis sa création, la crique de Dubaï représente le cœur économique de la ville. De simple lieu d’échange lors de sa fondation, il s’est transformé en un important lieu de pêche à la perle, puis est devenu une voie maritime de transport incontournable. C’est à ce lieu névralgique de la ville qu’est consacré le pavillon Dubai Creek: Birth of a City du Musée Al Shindagha, qui a pour vocation de retracer l’histoire de Dubaï, en y incarnant le désir d’innovation de la cité qui a contribué à son rayonnement et son positionnement sur la scène internationale.

Description

People of the Creek est la première installation interactive que croisera le spectateur sur son parcours. Des faisceaux lumineux voyageant par fibre optique sont stabilisés au contact des mains du public et les connectent entre eux. Ce passage numérique symbolise la communication et l’importance des échanges entre les différentes communautés dans la culture émirienne. Pour cette exposition, conçue par GSM Project, les équipes d’XYZ ont rempli un mandat d’intégration audiovisuel, d’éclairage et la conception et l’intégration d’expériences interactives, accompagnant le public dans sa découverte de l’histoire de Dubaï.

Une série de viseurs d’observation disposées autour d’une maquette interactive de la crique racontent, de façon novatrice, son histoire, alors qu’une vidéo est déclenchée au contact des mains, animant ainsi une section de la maquette. Plusieurs écrans interactifs sont aussi intégrés aux colonnes de miroirs pour mettre en valeur les artefacts. Les stations de jeu et de photomaton dynamisent la visite du pavillon. Le mapping vidéo est utilisé pour donner de l’information plus détaillée sur la crique.

Champs d'expertise

  • Audio
  • Vidéo
  • Éclairage
  • Systèmes de contrôle
  • Interactivité

Mandat

Design audiovisuel
Intégration
Éclairage

Production

Dubai Municipality & Culture

Conception

GSM Project