At the Top, Burj Khalifa

Elements of Burj Khalifa

Interactive Programming

Dubaї, United Arab Emirates 2017

A masterpiece of engineering and architecture, the Burj Khalifa is the tallest building in the world, with 160 floors and a height of 830 meters at the tip. It also includes the busiest observatories in the world, with nearly 2 million visitors a year (5000 visitors a day!). GSM Project had the mandate to plan and design the visitor experience of this unique experience, from the reception area to the various observatories located on the 124th, 125th and 148th floors. GSM has entrusted Fly Studio, in partnership with XYZ, with the creation of content, the technical design and the programming of the interactive model Elements of Burj Khalifa located at the reception of the building. XYZ also provided the technical direction and provided the interactive equipment for the Movement Art Wall, a digital work of art not far from the model, which is self-generating and transforms itself as visitors pass by.

Description

Like the tallest building in the world, the Elements of Burj Khalifa model is monumental. Reproducing each element of the tower, the model is almost 4 meters high. Atmospheric video paintings pass there, reproducing the elements of the desert: sand, wind, fire and water. When a visitor approaches, he can “scan” the images and trigger an interactive sequence. Since the model is in a very bright location, the team used three 10,000 lumens 6K video projectors for the table, so that the typographic elements are clear and well defined. For the tower, three HD projectors were required to give a perfect resolution and brightness to the projected images.

This highly technical project took nearly a year of work to develop an extremely powerful system that handle more than 24 million pixels of generative content with instantaneous responsiveness. The team worked from Montreal to fine-tune the programming, on a reproduction of the scale model.

Expertise

  • Audio
  • Video
  • Lighting
  • Control systems
  • Interactivity

Mandate

Technical design
Technical direction
Equipment supply
Integration calibration
Interactive programming

Production

GSM Project

At the Top, Burj Khalifa

Elements of Burj Khalifa

Programmation interactive 6K

Dubaï, Émirats arabes unis, 2017

Chef d’œuvre d’ingénierie et d’architecture, Burj Khalifa est l’édifice le plus élevé au monde, avec 160 étages et une hauteur de 830 mètres à la pointe. Il comprend également les observatoires les plus achalandés au monde, avec près de 2 millions de visiteurs par année (5 000 visiteurs par jour!). GSM Project a eu le mandat de planifier et de concevoir l’expérience du visiteur de cette expérience unique, de la réception aux différents observatoires situées aux 124e, 125e et 148e étages. GSM a confié à XYZ, en partenariat avec Fly Studio, la conception technique et la programmation interactive de la maquette interactive Elements of Burj Khalifa installée à la réception de l’immeuble. XYZ a également assuré la direction technique et fourni l’équipement interactif pour le Movement Art Wall, une œuvre numérique non loin de la maquette, qui se génère d’elle-même et se transforme alors que les visiteurs passent devant.

 

Description

À l’image de l’édifice le plus haut du monde, la maquette Elements of Burj Khalifa est grandiose. Reproduisant chaque élément de la tour, la maquette fait presque 4 mètres de haut. Des tableaux atmosphériques vidéo y défilent, reconstituant les éléments du désert : le sable, le vent, le feu et l’eau. Lorsqu’un visiteur s’approche, il peut « balayer » les images et y déclencher une séquence interactive. Puisque la maquette est située dans un endroit très éclairé, l’équipe a eu recours à trois projecteurs vidéo 6K très puissants et à trois projecteurs HD afin de donner une résolution et une luminosité impeccables aux images qui y sont projetées.

Ce projet d’une grande complexité technique a nécessité près d’un an de travail pour développer un système de gestion de contenu génératif sur mesure à l’esthétique parfaite. L’équipe a travaillé à partir de Montréal afin de peaufiner la programmation, sur une reproduction de la maquette de taille réelle.

Champs d'expertise

  • Audio
  • Vidéo
  • Éclairage
  • Systèmes de contrôle
  • Interactivité

Mandat

Conception technique
Direction technique
Fourniture d’équipements
Intégration
Calibration
Programmation interactive

Production

GSM Project