Architect Lighting

Illumination of downtown Matane

Matane City

Matane, Quebec, 2019

As part of the third edition of the participatory budget of the city of Matane, the citizens chose to select an illumination project for the downtown area.  

This participatory public vote expressed the will of the inhabitants to magnify the treasures of their urban heritage and to sublimate the local gathering points in their city. 

Two main buildings in the downtown area, the Joseph-Rouleau cultural complex and the CLSC, have thus benefited from the enhancement of their facades through the addition of a high-quality lighting system. 

The mission entrusted to XYZ was to design and integrate new lighting installations for the 2 facades, without distorting their respective unique character. The equipment also had to blend into the architectural lines of both buildings, in order to remain as unobtrusive as possible during the day.

Description

Joseph-Rouleau Cultural Complex 

The approach behind this project was to create a lighting display intended to sublimate the artworks and exhibitions presented in the upper gallery of the center. 

A series of over 100 high quality, corrosion resistant and robust projectors were installed in direct view. This strategic positioning of the fixtures was chosen to compliment the modern architecture of the building.   

 

CLSC 

XYZ teams installed a series of 36 classic multi-color floodlights that illuminate the building from the bottom up. This choice allows the multiple architectural details of the façade to stand out and it also enhances the height of the building. 

Through an ingenious remote-control system, the lighting can be modified to emphasize certain events. Thus, some sixty dates such as Valentine’s Day or New Year’s Day can be highlighted by distinct lighting effects. 

The main challenge was to create custom-made mounting bases anchored to the ground, so as not to alter the building. The selected spotlights had to be perfectly adapted to their environment and be able to withstand the particularly windy weather conditions of the city. 

The municipality gave XYZ Technologies carte blanche in the process of designing and integrating the lighting systems for both buildings. Our teams were able to demonstrate their inventiveness and ingenuity in order to make this project coherent, while still respecting a reasonable budget. 

Both projects were unanimously welcomed by the client, but also by the population who were delighted with the embellishment of their city’s downtown.

Expertise

  • Lighting

Mandate

Technical direction
Design
Equipment supply
Integration
Calibration and programming

Éclairage architectural dynamique

Mise en lumière du centre-ville de Matane

Ville de Matane

Matane, Québec, 2019

Dans le cadre de la troisième édition du budget participatif de la ville de Matane, et parmi plusieurs projets proposés, les citoyens ont choisi de sélectionner un projet d’illumination du centre-ville.  

Par ce vote public participatif s’exprime la volonté des habitants de magnifier leur patrimoine urbain et de sublimer des lieux de rencontre et d’échanges. 

Les deux édifices concernés, le complexe culturel Joseph-Rouleau et le CLSC, ont ainsi bénéficié de la mise en valeur de leur façade à travers l’intégration d’un système d’éclairage de haute-qualité. 

La mission confiée à XYZ était de concevoir et dintégrer de nouveaux dispositifs d’éclairage aux 2 façades, sans dénaturer leur caractère unique respectif. L’équipement devait également se fondre dans les lignes architecturales des deux bâtiments, afin de rester le plus discret possible durant la journée.

Description

Complexe culturel Joseph-Rouleau 

La démarche derrière ce projet était de créer une façade médiatique, un canevas vierge destiné à sublimer les œuvres d’art et les expositions présentées dans la galerie supérieure du centre. 

Une série de plus de 100 projecteurs de très haute-qualité, anticorrosifs et robustes, ont été installés en vue directe. Cette façon stratégique de positionner les luminaires a été privilégiée afin de complimenter l’architecture moderne du bâtiment.   

 

CLSC 

Les équipes de XYZ ont installé une série de 36 projecteurs multi couleurs classiques éclairant le bâtiment du bas vers le haut. Ce choix permet de faire ressortir les multiples détails architecturaux de la façade et d’en rehausser également la hauteur. 

Par un ingénieux système de contrôle à distance, l’éclairage peut être modifié afin de mettre l’emphase sur certains évènements. Ainsi, une soixantaine de dates comme la Saint-Valentin ou le Nouvel An sont soulignées grâce è des effets lumineux distincts. 

Le principal défi rencontré fut de créer des bases de fixation sur mesure ancrées au sol, afin de ne pas altérer l’édifice. Tout comme les projecteurs sélectionnés, elles devaient être parfaitement adaptées à leur environnement et capables de résister aux conditions climatiques particulièrement venteuses. 

La municipalité a donné carte blanche à XYZ dans le processus de conception et d’intégration des systèmes d’éclairage des deux édifices.  

Nos équipes ont su faire preuve d’inventivité et d’ingéniosité afin d’inscrire ce projet dans une démarche cohérente, tout en respectant un budget raisonnable. 

Les deux réalisations ont reçu un accueil unanime de la part du client, mais également de la population qui était ravi de l’embellissement du centre-ville de leur ville. 

Champs d'expertise

  • Éclairage

Mandat

Maître d’œuvre
Conception
Fourniture d’équipement
Direction technique
Intégration
Programmation