Audiovisual integration

Australian Pavilion

Universal Expo Dubai

Dubai, UAE, 2022

“Connecting Minds and Creating the Future” is the theme of Expo 2020 Dubai, which opened in October 2021. The six-month event is a one-of-a-kind showcase for more than 190 countries from around the world and a chance to explore some of the most important global issues of our day. In keeping with the spirit of grandiosity that Dubai is known for, a separate pavilion has been built for each country (a first in World Expo history), each one more architecturally striking than the next.  

Located in the heart of the Expo 2020 Mobility District, the Australian Pavilion is a family-friendly destination focusing on connection, learning and fun. The design of the brilliant white canopy hovering over the pavilion is inspired by clouds, an integral part of the never-ending Australian skylines.  

XYZ Technologies collaborated on the integration of the lighting and audiovisual systems for the pavilion. Our team was also tasked with systems operations and maintenance for the duration of the Expo.  

Description

Our specialists were asked to incorporate a state-of-the-art LED system into the vertical aluminum panels comprising the architectural wonder that is the cloud-inspired canopy. At night, the structure is illuminated with a breathtaking multicolour display.  

Inside, a three-zone multimedia experience takes visitors on a journey through Australia, with immersive visual effects that delight, surprise and awe.  

The experience begins with a mural-lined tunnel. High-resolution 4K interactive screens and a hall of one-way mirrors reveal a series of Australian characters who welcome guests and describe what they love about their country. The next zone boasts an immense planetarium-like dome, equipped with laser hybrid projectors and surround sound technology to produce a stunning sky effect.  

The journey comes to a conclusion in an immersive exhibition space, where a film is projected on four walls, with a mirrored ceiling at the centre, delivering a spectacular, all-encompassing visual extravaganza.  

Outside, the forecourt complements the interior experience, with sophisticated lighting, a giant video screen and a high-quality sound system. This open-air area is an ideal gathering place, where hundreds of guests can enjoy a variety of live entertainment. 

Expertise

  • Audio
  • Video
  • Lighting
  • Rigging
  • Control systems

Mandate

Technical direction
Technical Design
Equipment supply
Installation
Calibration and programming
Operations and maintenance (team of 16 technicians)

Content production

http://accolade.net.au/

General contractor

Al Shafar Interiors (ASI)
https://www.asi-ae.com/

Extra credit

Fractal Systems
https://www.fractalsys.com/

Intégration audiovisuelle

Pavillon de l’Australie

Exposition Universelle Dubaï

Dubaï, Émirats arabes unis, 2022

C’est sous le thème « Connecter les esprits, construire le futur » que l’Expo universelle de Dubaï a ouvert ses portes en octobre 2021. Tenu sur une période de six mois, l’événement est devenu la vitrine mondiale à travers laquelle plus de 190 pays ont su aborder les grands enjeux mondiaux de notre époque. Fidèle à l’esprit grandiose de Dubaï, chaque pays participant disposait de leur propre pavillon, dont certains sont aujourd’hui considérés comme des merveilles architecturales.  

Situé au cœur du quartier de la mobilité de l’Expo 2020, le pavillon de l’Australie se veut un lieu rassembleur, divertissant et éducatif pour toute la famille. Sa brillante toiture blanche en forme de nuage est inspirée des ciels emblématiques du pays et constitue un élément clé de son architecture. 

XYZ Technologies a participé à l’intégration des systèmes d’éclairage et audiovisuels du pavillon australien. Notre équipe a également eu le mandat d’assurer les opérations et la maintenance des systèmes pendant toute la durée de l’Exposition universelle. 

Description

Véritable prouesse architecturale, la structure qui surplombe le pavillon est composée de panneaux verticaux en aluminium à travers lesquels nos experts ont intégré un système d’éclairage LED de pointe. La nuit, le toit illumine le ciel d’un impressionnant déploiement de couleurs vives. 

À l’intérieur, une expérience multimédia divisée en trois espaces distincts plonge les visiteurs dans un voyage immersif aux effets visuels époustouflants. 

Le parcours débute par un tunnel tapissé de fresques murales. Des écrans interactifs haute résolution 4K et une galerie de miroirs transparents révèlent des images de différents personnages australiens qui témoignent de leur attachement à leur pays. La zone suivante est dotée d’un impressionnant dôme, où, tel un planétarium, des projecteurs laser hybrides reproduisent le firmament avec une ambiance sonore multipiste. 

L’étape finale du parcours propose un espace d’exposition complètement immersif. Projeté sur les quatre murs de la pièce, un film époustouflant encadre les spectateurs. Au-dessus d’eux, une imposante structure en miroir s’illumine, les submergeant d’effets visuels saisissants. 

À l’extérieur, une scène centrale vient compléter l’expérience du pavillon. Celle-ci est équipée d’un système d’éclairage, d’un écran géant vidéo et de sonorisation de haute-qualité. Lieu de rencontre idéal, cet espace se veut un lieu rassembleur et chaleureux où plusieurs centaines de spectateurs se donnent rendez-vous pour assister à divers spectacles. 

Champs d'expertise

  • Audio
  • Vidéo
  • Éclairage
  • Gréage
  • Systèmes de contrôle

Mandat

Conception technique
Fourniture d’équipements
Installation
Programmation et calibration
Opération (équipe de 16 techniciens)

Production Contenu 

http://accolade.net.au/

Entrepreneur général

Al Shafar Interiors (ASI)
https://www.asi-ae.com/

Crédit extra

Fractal Systems
https://www.fractalsys.com/