Audiovisual integration

The Woman Behind Thomas Jefferson

Sally’s Room

Located in Charlottesville, Virginia, Monticello is a designated UNESCO World Heritage Centre. The original plantation was built at the end of the 18th century by Thomas Jefferson, the third president of the United States. In 1996, the Thomas Jefferson Foundation opened the site to the public, giving people the opportunity to visit the historical home, along with the former croplands that surround it and the presidential library.

The south wing of the estate pays tribute to Sally Hemings, one of the most famous African-American women in U.S. history, who was Jefferson’s slave and mother to several of his illegitimate children. GSM Project tapped into XYZ’s expertise for the audiovisual content presented in what were once Hemings’ living quarters. The multimedia installation is designed to be both engaging and educational, focusing on important moments of her life in the exhibit room. Typical articles of clothing are also on display to give visitors a better idea of who she was and what her life was like.

Description

The technological integration work was particularly painstaking in that it had to be carried out without damaging this small (190 sq. ft.) windowless room built in the 18th century.

The integration of pared-down, carefully designed audiovisual content into this small space helps visitors get to know Sally Hemings. The projection system using stretched canvases on two of the four walls, along with mapping on the articles of clothing that represent her whisks visitors back in time to experience her story from her point of view. A glowing mannequin only adds to the effect.

A motion detector in the room automatically triggers the audiovisual sequence when someone enters the room. A soundscape playing over ceiling-mounted speakers further enhances the overall ambiance.

XYZ Cultural Technology was also responsible for designing the lighting controls for another room in this heritage site.

Expertise

  • Audio
  • Video
  • Lighting
  • Control systems

Mandate

Audiovisual integration
Lighting integration
Technical design
System programming
Lighting programming

Production

GSM Project

Design

GSM Project

Intégration audiovisuelle

La femme derrière Thomas Jefferson

Sally’s Room

Inscrit au Patrimoine Mondial de l’Humanité par l’UNESCO, le domaine de Monticello, à Charlottesville, en Virginie, a été construit à la fin du XVIIIe siècle par Thomas Jefferson, troisième président des États-Unis. En 1996, la Fondation Thomas Jefferson ouvre le site au public et permet la visite de la maison historique, des anciennes zones de plantation et de la bibliothèque présidentielle.

L’aile sud de la demeure retrace l’histoire de Sally Hemings, esclave et mère de plusieurs des enfants illégitimes de Jefferson, devenue l’une des femmes afro-américaines les plus connues de l’Histoire. GSM Project a eu recours à l’expertise d’XYZ Technologies pour assurer l’intégration audio-visuelle dans la dépendance de Sally Hemings L’installation multimédia, à visée poétique et didactique, expose les moments importants de sa vie dans la salle d’exposition. Des vêtements qui personnifient Sally Hemings sont également présents pour rapprocher les visiteurs au plus près de son intimité.

Description

Réaliser l’intégration technologique sans dénaturer cette petite pièce sans fenêtre de 18 mètres carrés (190 pieds carrés) et datant du XVIIIe siècle fut le défi le plus important pour les experts d’XYZ Technologies.

C’est par l’ajout d’une installation audiovisuelle épurée et réfléchie pour ce petit espace que les visiteurs découvrent la vie de Sally Hemings. Un système de projection sur des toiles tendues et installées sur deux des quatre murs intérieurs ainsi que du mapping sur les vêtements qui représentent Sallys Hemings transportent les visiteurs au sein de son histoire. Un mannequin éclairé de l’intérieur ajoute du dynamisme à la présentation.

Un détecteur de mouvement installé dans la salle permet une détection de présence pour démarrer la séquence audio-visuelle à chaque fois que des visiteurs se présentent. À cela s’ajoute un paysage sonore généré par des haut-parleurs présents dans le plafond.

XYZ Technologies a également réalisé le contrôle d’éclairage d’une autre pièce de ce site patrimonial.

Champs d'expertise

  • Audio
  • Vidéo
  • Éclairage
  • Systèmes de contrôle

Mandat

Intégration audiovisuelle
Intégration d’éclairage
Conception technique
Programmation système
Programmation éclairage

Production

GSM Project

Conception

GSM Project