Custom-Developed Outdoor Installation

A Night to Remember in Maui

Old Lahaina Luau

Lahaina, Maui, Hawaii, 2017

A luau is a traditional Hawaiian celebration that combines a culinary feast, exotic cocktails and a hula performance. The Old Lahaina Luau is considered to be one of Maui’s most authentic dinner shows, playing to sold-out audiences year-round. The breathtakingly beautiful venue can accommodate close to 500 guests right on the beach, with a panoramic view of Lanai and Molokai and some of the most spectacular sunsets imaginable. Realizing that their AV and stage facilities had grown obsolete, the Old Lahaina Luau’s administrators called upon the experts at XYZ to revamp the experience.

Description

Given Old Lahaina’s seaside location, one of the biggest challenges of this project was to come up with a solution that delivered a spellbinding audiovisual experience without detracting from the natural scenery. And because the installation is a permanent one, the equipment had to be able to withstand the tropical climate. The XYZ team therefore developed a bespoke solution complete with sophisticated audiovisual devices that would tolerate the extreme weather conditions encountered in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

Lights were installed on four telescopic poles that are extended to full height before each show and lowered during the day to preserve the site’s natural beauty. Speakers in ultra-thin wood enclosures were set up at various spots to maximize sound pressure while still blending into the background. Directional beams are used to focus light on specific areas and avoid spillover to adjacent tourist attractions.

The results are as aesthetically pleasing as they are weather-resistant. Anti-corrosive treatment has been applied to all the AV equipment, and the technical control panels have been fully upgraded, with a new audio console and state-of-the-art software.

Expertise

  • Audio
  • Lighting
  • Control systems
  • Stage design

Mandate

Principal contractor
Design
Equipment supply
Integration
Calibration and programming

Production

Old Lahaina Luau

Équipement scénique sur mesure

Soirée inoubliable à Maui

Old Lahaina Luau

Lahaina, Maui, Hawaï, 2017

Un luau est une fête traditionnelle hawaïenne qui comprend un buffet gastronomique, des cocktails exotiques un spectacle de danse. Le luau d’Old Lahaina est considéré comme l’un des soupers-spectacles les plus authentiques sur l’île de Maui, affichant complet 365 jours par année. Le magnifique complexe peut accueillir près de 500 convives directement sur la plage, offrant une vue panoramique de Lanai et Molokai et des couchers de soleil spectaculaires. Les équipements audiovisuels et scéniques des installations d’Old Lahaina étant devenus désuets, ses administrateurs ont demandé l’expertise d’XYZ afin de les renouveler.

Description

Old Lahaina Luau étant un endroit paradisiaque en bord de mer, l’un des principaux enjeux fut de concevoir une solution audiovisuelle spectaculaire mais discrète. Par ailleurs, puisqu’il s’agit d’une installation permanente, les équipements scéniques devaient pouvoir résister au climat tropical. Les experts d’XYZ ont donc conçu une solution taillée sur mesure pour cette scène extérieure en plein cœur du Pacifique, où les conditions environnementales mettent les appareils audiovisuels sophistiqués à rude épreuve.

Les luminaires sont installés sur quatre mâts télescopiques qui se déploient avant chaque spectacle afin de préserver l’intégralité des lieux durant la journée. Des haut-parleurs à caissons de bois ultra minces sont disposés de part et d’autre de la scène pour maximiser la pression sonore tout en se fondant dans le paysage. Leurs faisceaux directionnels assurent une couverture limitée aux espaces scéniques, évitant ainsi la contamination vers les attractions touristiques situées autour d’Old Lahaina Luau.

L’équipe d’XYZ a livré une solution scénique de première qualité, à l’épreuve des intempéries tropicales. Tous les équipements ont été traités pour résister à la corrosion. Par ailleurs, la régie technique a, elle aussi, été entièrement revampée, incluant une nouvelle console audio et un système de contrôle de pointe.

Champs d'expertise

  • Audio
  • Éclairage
  • Systèmes de contrôle
  • Solutions scénographiques

Mandat

Maître d’œuvre
Conception
Fourniture d’équipements
Intégration
Calibration et programmation

Production

Old Lahaina Luau